Seoulo 2k17 : Solo travel thoughts & recommendations.

I just got back from a chill-short-getaway-solo-trip from Seoul. 5 days was more than enough because I’ve been to Seoul too many times, I don’t really know what else to do there than to cafe hop (and shop). So that was what i did.

img_0137


Accommodation. 
If you’re looking at travelling solo, Seoul is the best city to head to. It’s pretty safe and getting around is relatively easy. There’s tonnes of hotels, hostels and beautiful Airbnbs all around and yes, I booked a studio near Seoul Station (which was extremely convenient! I’m just opposite Lotte mart.
This is my Airbnb which I would highly recommend any solo travellers! It is actually accommodates 3-4 people but I booked it all for myself because it was really inexpensive. I paid $298 for 5 nights which comes up to less than 60 bucks per night (it’s a massive deal!)
Check-in timings are usually around 2PM – 3PM for Airbnbs. But I got to check-in at 10AM which was great because I took an overnight flight and I needed all the rest I can get (well instead of chillin’ at a cafe nearby and wasting my time, I’m really glad that I got to check-in that early and freshen myself up).

Safety. 
To me, being safe is an important factor because well,
1. i don’t want to worry my parents. And also,
2. I’m female. (Though not the best of shape for anyone to want to do shit to me but yknow, safety is the top priority.)
Seoul is a safe city. I’ve been to Seoul more than a couple of times and i have never encountered anything dangerous/life-threatening. Except for that one time when my friends and i came home late and had a little weird ghostly encounter (ok, that’s another story for another day but goodlord it was creepy :3)
I don’t like to hang out outside too late so it hasn’t been a problem for me. I don’t club (I’m too old for that) so i’m not sure about the late night ‘drama’ that could happen.
Definitely, if you’re travelling alone, it is best not to stay out too late. Moreover, you’re in a foreign country. *Touch wood* Anything could happen.

Transport Convenience. 
Transportation in Seoul is pretty convenient. If you don’t know/speak korean, there’s english (translation) almost everywhere, so you don’t need to worry shit.
Or you can download their subway/metro app.
As compared to Singapore, changing trains in Seoul can sometimes tedious because there are times where you have to walk quite a distance to get to the next line. (Lol in Sg, you just have to cross over to the next platform which is a few steps away.)

Shopping. 

The number one place every tourist should visit while in Seoul is SHINSEGAE. It’s a duty free departmental store. The one at Namdaemun market is huge. They have almost all the korean brands as well as international brands as well. Tourist get immediate tax-free upon purchase which is so much better than purchasing stuff from Myeongdong and then get your cash refund at the airport. Why would you need more korean won when you’re already gonna leave the country ??
Yes, Myeongdong‘s a great shopping street to shop your ass off ; Shops are bribing you with freebies. But well I’m a lazy betch. I prefer to get immediate refund on the spot.
And also, there’s the Stylenanda Pink Hotel at Myeongdong (You should NEVER not visit!) It is so damn beautiful and yes I spent alotta money there. I’m not even gonna lie. I’m extremely guilty.
Express bus terminal. Yes, you da kween EBT! From clothes to shoes to everything ; you name it they have it! Everything there is extremely affordable. I personally bought a few tops from there and I’m pretty happy with my purchases.
Ehwa shopping street is good as well if you want to purchase cheap clothes and apparel. Price ranges from as low as W4900 to W15000 (depending on what you’re looking for). The clothes there are also of good quality, not those flimsy, see-through type of material.
Hongdae is pretty dope too, though that street mark up their prices a little too much. Hongdae is the clubbers’ street. It’s the place where youngsters hangout at night. Yes it’s pretty happening after 7pm when the sun goes home and the moon comes out to play.
There’s a huge Artbox in Hongdae which I always frequent when I’m around that area. They are not bringing in cute cosmetic stuff. I spent 40 mins in that small aisle and got some lip tints home. Once again, #guilty.
I love grocery shopping. I live for it. And Lotte mart is my own personal heaven. From odeng to korean snacks to everything you can ever think of that is in a supermarket, Lotte has it all. THEY EVEN HAVE CORGI PLUSHIES THAT I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT RESIST. (I bought 3 of them; all 3. Swept those off the shelf #NOTGUILTY).
I came to Seoul with half a luggage of stuff and left Seoul with 2 luggages worth of cosmetics. Yes, I’m a crazy shopaholic. :3 #noragrets.

Cafe-hop. 
Apart from being a crazy-ass shopaholic, sometimes I just like to chill at random cafes. Cafe-hopping is an activity that i would totally recommend ; especially the various pet cafes which Seoul is kinda famous for! Dog cafes, cat cafes, sheep cafes, racoon cafes ; they have it all!
Bauhouse dog cafe would be my favourite! The pups there are really friendly (friendlier if you have treats haha) i spent 3 hours cuddling with the little ones. It wasn’t expensive, you’re required to pay a premium price for your drinks and to play with the pups ( it’s normal ). Treats were sold separately ($3-5 per pack).

Blind Alley is another pet cafe to check out. They have RACOONS. 2 black ones and 1 albino racoon hahaha they are darn adorable. Also, a cutie corgi named Cookie! Who could resist a corgi? Not me! I spent 2 hours there belly-rubbing that fat fluff corgi instead of playing with the racoons hahaha :3 They also have a capybara and i fed it some tomatoes lol that betch is full of attitude hahaha
Lastly, Thanks Nature Cafe. The sheep cafe in Hongdae with 2 adorable fluffy clouds. I ordered myself some brownie and ice cream with a cup of iced americano and spent 2 hours there sitting beside the sheep, listening to their mehmehs and thinking about life.
img_0389

I totally chilled my way through this whole solo trip and i enjoyed it so very much! If you’re heading to Seoul for the first time, i won’t encourage you to chill as much as i did because that’ll be a waste of your money. You should visit the Palaces, Namsan tower, Nami Island and all that. But if you’re heading to Seoul for the n-th time and you just wanna chill, then yes, chill your arse off here with the animals! (And shop till you drop, literally!)

It has been 2 years since I spent time in Seoul. I still love the country even though I’ve been there multiple times. It’s safe to say that Seoul is my second home, I kinda know where and how to get around and stuff. I’ll probably head back to Seoul again when I feel like it. For now, imma save up for bigger trips, preferably to Europe or the States.

Leave a comment